Question about taking college courses

Resources and methods for teaching and learning New Testament Greek.
Austin Dixon

Question about taking college courses

Post by Austin Dixon »

I have an interest in learning koine greek; I often use greek lexicons and word studies when I'm studying the bible, but for a long time I have wanted to properly learn the language so I can read straight from a gnt. I have virtually no knowledge of the language as-of-yet (besides a few memorized words and alphabet), so I am trying to decide now what the best method of learning might be.

I work for a university and have the option of free college courses as a work perk, so if I want to I can take classes in classical greek and then teach myself biblical greek. Or I could skip the classes and just go straight to teaching myself (I've taught myself seven computer programming languages, so I have some propensity for self-teaching).

How would you suggest I start? And I understand the subjectiveness of this question, but how much study does it typically take before one could straight read passages of scripture without turning to a lexicon for help?
Jonathan Robie

Re: Question about taking college courses

Post by Jonathan Robie »

Welcome to B-Greek, Austin!

I would definitely take the classical Greek classes, if you can read classical Attic, Koine will not be hard for you, and it is much easier to learn with a teacher.

The best way to start is to work through a grammar, perhaps Funk's Grammar, use the workbook, and read Greek for at least 15 - 30 minutes/day, beginning with a simple book like 1 John.
ἐξίσταντο δὲ πάντες καὶ διηποροῦντο, ἄλλος πρὸς ἄλλον λέγοντες, τί θέλει τοῦτο εἶναι;
http://jonathanrobie.biblicalhumanities.org/
Austin Dixon

Post by Austin Dixon »