Self Taught Living Koine ?

Matt Johnston

Self Taught Living Koine ?

Post by Matt Johnston »

Hi everybody,

I'm looking for some practical advice on approaching living koine as a living language. All of my formal training has been in the grammar/translations school (6 years-ish ago I began with Machen). Initially I thought the living koine materials were unnecessary and decided I would build toward some of fluency, or at least more proficiency by reading large swaths of the NT and some of Apostolic Fathers. This was slow going and at times was the source of discouragement. I told myself I just needed to stay at it, which I am sure is partly true. Over the last several months I have seen the benefits of listening to the Hebrew Bible and so decided to give the whole living koine thing a try.

So far I have worked through Buth's Living Koine Introduction Part 1. A few days ago I received Buth's Epictetus materials as well as his recording of the Gospel according to John. I have spent about an hour with the Epictetus material so far (the goal will be a little each day) and am basically getting dominated so far. I think it is mainly the vocabulary that is giving me a hard time. I believe Buth recommends listening to each discourse 50-100 times. As I am only 2 times in I am not totally discouraged. In addition I have listened to/read several chapters of Mark from letsreadgreek.com.