Feedback on criteria for posting books here

Lexicons, Grammars, Reading Guides, History, Culture, and Background
Matthew Longhorn

Feedback on criteria for posting books here

Post by Matthew Longhorn »

Open question to folk.
Obviously I post a lot of books here, but it would be good to get feedback on what is appropriate.

My basic criteria is:
1. Is it something that I think would contribute to someone's understanding of post-classical Greek. The recent book I just posted on the meaning of Βασιλεία is an example. The question of what level of understanding people want here is of interest to me. Increasing understanding could be as low as the level of an absolute beginner intro to pronunciation, right up to major works such as Kantor's and advanced lexicons and grammars
2. Is it something that would increase the range of Greek texts that someone can access e.g. via newer editions or first publication, or interesting arrangement . My recent post on the text in Origen is an example
3. Is it something that might be of interest to people related to the history and development of the language, even if not koine greek per se

Many books are going to be out of the acceptable price range of almost everyone here e.g. pretty much anything from Brill. Are these still useful for me to post? While not something people might buy, they might still try to hunt from a library

Any additions / modifications to these criteria people can provide to guide me so that the board doesn't become spammed by me (more than it is?) would be appreciated
mikeatnip

Re: Feedback on criteria for posting books here

Post by mikeatnip »