Abbott-Smith A Manual Lexicon of the Greek New Testament

Tell us about interesting projects involving biblical Greek. Collaborative projects involving biblical Greek may use this forum for their communication - please contact jonathan.robie@ibiblio.org if you want to use this forum for your project.
Louis L Sorenson

Abbott-Smith A Manual Lexicon of the Greek New Testament

Post by Louis L Sorenson »

Abbott-Smith's 1919-1921 (1922 2nd ed.) lexicon is is the public domain. It is perhaps one of the best Greek lexicons of the NT that is in the public domain. It's my desire to get this up and going on B-Greek. I've watched several start-ups over the last five years, and they have all seemed to fizzle out. I had been working for several years to get this into an html format and get it posted up on the web. I have got a database of all the entries, page numbers, and more. My former partner and I had the idea of retrieving an image of an entry, as the the first stage to digitizing the entire lexicon. We had gotten to the point of adjusting the borders of the images, when an illness put an end to that endeavor (we actually had images for every entry separated.) Last year, one of our members, Daniel C. Owens had posted that he was getting a project up and running, but that seems to have not progressed. See the link http://www.ibiblio.org/bgreek/forum/vie ... bott#p7171 and https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgr ... Kg0luaGD4U. This is a project that could help many in the third world who cannot afford BDAG or who only have access to Strong and Thayer's lexicon, or a pdf of Abbott-Smith.

Has anybody heard of anyone else working on this sort of project?
dowens76

Re: Abbott-Smith A Manual Lexicon of the Greek New Testament

Post by dowens76 »