What version did Jesus use?

Anything related to Biblical Greek that doesn't fit into the other forums.
kenjacobsen

What version did Jesus use?

Post by kenjacobsen »

Hello, I'm a newbie with a simple question I'm hoping someone can help me with;

In Luke 4:16-17, Jesus reads from Isaiah in a synagogue.
Is it safe to assume he's reading from the Septuagint?
Or is he reading from Hebrew? Or an Aramaic version?

I'm asking because I haven't been able to find an answer elsewhere..

Thank you.
Barry Hofstetter

Re: What version did Jesus use?

Post by Barry Hofstetter »

kenjacobsen wrote:Hello, I'm a newbie with a simple question I'm hoping someone can help me with;

Thank you.
I was tempted to be snarky and say "The King James Version, of course..." :roll:

The general consensus at least among conservative scholars is that Jesus would have read from the Hebrew, but that Luke quotes the LXX as the version most accessible to his Greek speaking readers.
N.E. Barry Hofstetter, M.A., Th.M.
Ph.D. Student U of FL
Instructor of Latin
Jack M. Barrack Hebrew Academy
καὶ σὺ τὸ σὸν ποιήσεις κἀγὼ τὸ ἐμόν. ἆρον τὸ σὸν καὶ ὕπαγε.
timothy_p_mcmahon

Post by timothy_p_mcmahon »

Barry, do you know of a brief and easily accessible treatment of the question of to what extent NT citations agree with MT, LXX or other? I have a copy of Archer/Chirichigno, which I really like, but a short, effective treatment easily available online would be great.

Thanks!
Jason Hare

Post by Jason Hare »

timothy_p_mcmahon wrote:Barry, do you know of a brief and easily accessible treatment of the question of to what extent NT citations agree with MT, LXX or other? I have a copy of Archer/Chirichigno, which I really like, but a short, effective treatment easily available online would be great.

Thanks!
Is it not the case that the Septuagint so-called may very well have had its readings altered to match the versions of the verses in the New Testament?
Jason A. Hare
The Hebrew Café
Tel Aviv, Israel
S Walch