Greetings

Please introduce yourself here, if you haven't already.
Melanie Marthaler

Greetings

Post by Melanie Marthaler »

Greetings,

My name is Melanie. I love studying languages. My favorite language so far is Greek. That is why I am on here.
I took 3 semesters of Greek at a Bible college a couple of years ago. Before that I studied it on my own for about a year.
Greek was definitely my favorite class at college.

Other languages I am currently studying are American Sign Language (ASL) and Biblical Hebrew.

I am not an expert in Greek. I still have much to learn. My goal is to be able to read the Greek New Testament fluently.
Any advice or help would be much appreciated.

Thank you,
Melanie
Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith;
who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross,
despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.
Hebrews 12:2
RandallButh

Re: Greetings

Post by RandallButh »

My goal is to be able to read the Greek New Testament fluently.
Welcome.

I don't know how you studied Greek but you may be interested in knowing about learning to read a language fluently.

People improve their reading fluency by learning to speak the language fluently.
If you're interested in why a person needs to speak fluently in order to read fluently, see:
Phonology in Second Language Reading: Not an Optional Extra
Author(s): Catherine Walter
Source: TESOL Quarterly, Vol. 42, No. 3, Psycholinguistics for TESOL (Sep., 2008), pp. 455-474
Published by: Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages, Inc. (TESOL)
Stable URL: http://www.jstor.org/stable/40264478 .

Naturally, the same is true of Hebrew, maybe even more so because of the non-European alphabet that slow down initial comprehensible input.
Mason Barge

Post by Mason Barge »

Hi Melanie,