Introduction: Aaron Hermann

Please introduce yourself here, if you haven't already.
Aaron Hermann

Introduction: Aaron Hermann

Post by Aaron Hermann »

Hello Everyone,

My name is Aaron Hermann. I am a 36 year old male from the Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania area. I have been a born-again, Bible-believing, follower of Jesus Christ for 7 years. I started learning Greek in early June 2015, so I have been at it for about 8 months with a couple of multi-week breaks. All-in-all, I would say I have been working on Greek with a focused effort for a total of 6 months. I have not had any formal schooling in Greek, and have mostly been "teaching" myself. I have read Dave Black's "Learn New Testament Greek" and workbook, and have also watched several of the lectures available on YouTube. I have read some of Constantine Campbell's wok on Verbal Aspect, and am now working on learning sentence diagramming as I start David Wallace's "Beyond the Basics" and corresponding workbook.

I am trying to get a grasp of things to aid in some translation and exegetical work. I am not looking to become a Greek scholar, but to have a basic working knowledge of the language to help me make use of some of the available tools online and otherwise. I do believe that a working knowledge of Greek on at least a basic level is helpful in studying the Bible. Any help, suggestions, or otherwise are appreciated and coveted, so please fee free to contact me, or feel free to drop a line and say hello if the Spirit leads.

Well, that's a little bit about me and my journey of learning Greek.

Blessings,

Aaron
Aaron Hermann
Paul-Nitz

Re: Introduction: Aaron Hermann

Post by Paul-Nitz »

Welcome, Aaron.
Aaron Hermann wrote:to have a basic working knowledge of the language to help me make use of some of the available tools online and otherwise
With that goal in mind, the way you are studying Greek should work fine.