Steve's adventures (and misadventures) in Greek

Please introduce yourself here, if you haven't already.
Steven R Stuve

Steve's adventures (and misadventures) in Greek

Post by Steven R Stuve »

I'm a hobbyist when it comes to Greek. I first started learning Greek (primary NT interests) back in about 1983 or so. I audited a course that was using Paine's Beginning Greek. I rather diligently took the traditional approach of memorizing paradigms and painfully translated a few sentences each day word by word. Fast forward to about 2010. I had kept at learning Greek on and off for decades. I don't know how many times I'd memorized (and re-memorized) various paradigm tables. I had slowly been making a bit of progress, but not enough for my satisfaction.

I decided to get serious about Greek. I had a good day job so spent some money on a small reference library (including things like LSJ). Around 2012 or 2013, I decided I had time so I started spending a few hours every evening working on Greek. I was making my own flashcards, drilling myself on things, diligently parsing and translating in John, carefully looking up words in LSJ and BDAG, and doing all the things I thought a good budding Greek student should do. After about 4 months of this, I realistically considered my progress. I frankly was not much better at reading Greek than I was back in the late 1980s. The reality was that at the rate I was going, I needed to either give up on Greek or pick what few texts I was going to slowly work through in my lifetime. I had been looking on the internet and was seeing many of the standard Greek sites. The plethora of paradigms and support materials based on traditional methods just confirmed to me that the approach I had been using seemed to be what everyone else learning Greek was using. I was about ready to give up and call it quits.