Garrett Tyson intro

Please introduce yourself here, if you haven't already.
Garrett Tyson

Garrett Tyson intro

Post by Garrett Tyson »

Hi all,

I'm a graduate of Bethel Seminary, where I learned just enough Greek for it to be almost useful. My story is a complicated one, but the end result is this: I drive for UPS, and I teach Sunday school and do occasional pulpit supply.

As far as the Greek part of that goes, I've learned and lost it three times, and decided I'd never go through that again. So I've been reading my GNT Reader's Version on a regular basis (which I didn't even know existed until last fall), and enjoying myself immensely. I worked through books by Runge, Porter (who I guess is problematic on aspect?), and Decker, and the Bible is reading much differently than it did before. I bought a couple new books after reading some posts on this website, so I'll be working through those now as well.... can't remember the names, but they've been shipped.

I'm never going to find the intricacies of language theory very interesting, but seeing the Bible more clearly--that is interesting to me.

Currently, I'm working on a series on Mark. I guess what I'd like to do is post some of the lessons/sermons in the "other" section of the forum, and get people's reactions to it possibly. Alternatively, I'll post some of my translations, and try to figure out what Mark is doing with his verbs to tell his story a certain way. Mostly I'm focusing on how participles work before and after indicatives, and how present/aorist/imperfects give depth to the text.