present ind mp looks like present imperfect to me

The forum for those who still struggle with morphology, syntax, and idiom, or who wish to discuss basic questions about the meaning of Greek texts, syntax, or words.
Forum rules
This is not a place for students to ask for the answers to their homework assignments. Users who do that may be banned.
Douglas Nast

present ind mp looks like present imperfect to me

Post by Douglas Nast »

I am just learning the present middle and passive indicative. I see λυονται οι δουλοι translated as the slaves are being loosed. This sounds to me like an action in the present time which is not completed; therefore the "present imperfect".

When I heard there were 3 aspects and 3 temporal categories, I expected to see all nine elements of the matrix filled in. In Greek I have found only seven are used, and lo and behold, one of the missing slots, the "present imperfect" is being handled by a change in voice with nary a word about aspect, which having served its purpose in introducing the imperfect, perfect, and pluperfect is now relegated to the attic, like the proverbial crazy aunt.

I am a sucker for taxonomy, and any resources which can provide a richer more complete discussion of these issues would be of great interest to me.
Robert Emil Berge

Re: present ind mp looks like present imperfect to me

Post by Robert Emil Berge »