Romans 10:4, two nominative nouns

How do I work out the meaning of a Greek text? How can I best understand the forms and vocabulary in this particular text?
Forum rules
This is a beginner's forum - see the Koine Greek forum for more advanced discussion of Greek texts. Please quote the Greek text you are discussing directly in your post if it is reasonably short - do not ask people to look it up.

When answering questions in this forum, keep it simple, and aim your responses to the level of the person asking the question.
ryan_king

Romans 10:4, two nominative nouns

Post by ryan_king »

I am a total newbie, and have hundreds of questions. This verse stood out enough to me to try to articulate my first question of this type — feel free to point me to any online resources I should read as a prerequisite so I can avoid wasting your time.

Romans 10:9 two nominatives, “τελος” then “Χριστος,” and it has an implied “is,” which translations consistently use to say “Christ is the end of” — http://biblehub.com/romans/10-4.htm

The Greek is:
τελος γαρ νομου Χριστος εις δικαιοσυνην παντι τω πιστευοντι
Is there any other grammatically correct way to translate this?

That is, did the interpreters pick the version that made the least theological trouble, or is there truly no grammatical ambiguity?

Thanks, and be blessed of יהוה.
Jonathan Robie

Re: Romans 10:4, two nominative nouns

Post by Jonathan Robie »

Hi Ryan,

Welcome to B-Greek!

Does it help to reorder the words like this?

Χριστος γαρ τελος νομου or
τελος νομου γαρ Χριστος

I think that changes the emphasis, but not the basic meaning. I suspect what is confusing for you is that γαρ appears between τελος and νομου, but that happens in Greek, and γαρ has a strong tendency to want to be the second word in a clause. Does this help clarify?

You say you are a total newbie, do you know what a genitive is, that νομου is genitive, and how that affects the meaning here?