ἐν + dative meaning "because"

Grammar questions which are not related to any specific text.
Thomas Alberti

ἐν + dative meaning "because"

Post by Thomas Alberti »

Hi :)

I am studying Matthew, and came to 11:6:

και μακαριος εστιν ος εαν μη σκανδαλισθη εν εμοι

This is my first time seeing εν used to mean cause. I am trying to learn more about this usage, and more generally, how to search for grammatical patterns/structures/uses of meaning. I know how to search for morphological codes and specific English translations from a Greek word (e.g. εν translated to "because," but that search is too specific--I want to make sure there are not other structures with εν that mean "because" yet do not use the word "because; or εν translated to NOT "in" AND NOT "with," etc. etc., but that search is too broad--there are over 2000 uses of εν ), but I do not know how to search for... I don't know what they are called (which is part of my problem)--"clausal structures"?

I have an intermediate NT Greek grammar (Daniel B. Wallace) and he says εν can be used:
b. With Dative
• Spatial: on, upon, against, at, near
• Temporal: at, at the time of, during
• Cause: on the basis of
(Wallace, Daniel B. (2009-05-18). The Basics of New Testament Syntax: An Intermediate Greek Grammar (Kindle Locations 3545-3546). Zondervan. Kindle Edition.)

How can I search for or learn more about εν used in that third way (so that I can accurately understand what Jesus meant by "stumbled/offended εν me"--why did He use εν instead of some other structure of "because"? Which translation is most accurate--"in," "on account of," or "because"?)?

26:33 is another use, but it's so similar that it's not as helpful as a different context would be. Moreover, I am trying to figure out if stumble/offense is the only idea used with εν/because.

(26:33 αποκριθεις δε ο πετρος ειπεν αυτω ει παντες σκανδαλισθησονται εν σοι εγω [δε] ουδεποτε σκανδαλισθησομαι)

Thank you so much :)

Sincerely,
Tom