Welcome to the Archive of The Carrboro Citizen Logo Image

District National Merit Semifinalists named

Fifty-one Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools high school students have been named 2013 National Merit Semifinalists.

Semifinalists from Carrboro High are: Etienne Bovet, Audrey Copeland, Camilla Dohlman, Melaina Dyck, Kristen Lee and Colleen McCarthy.

Semifinalists from Chapel Hill High are: Hannah Blackburn, Laurence Cecil, Willa Chen, Samuela Fernandes, Elizabeth Fox, Arun Ganesh, Thomas Greer, Wesley Guo, Michael Huang, Michelle Jin, Shiyi Li, Chiara Salemi, Caleb Stern, Kiera Turner and Charles Woldorff.

Semifinalists from East Chapel Hill High are:  Bernard Amaldoss, Eric Chiou, Nathan Cho, Quinlan Cullen, Mingming Dong, Bridget Dou, Mitchell Gelpi, Zhen Hu, Kelly Jiang, Sung-Hoon Kim, Diana Lamaute, Hannah Lee, Austin Liu, Amanda Lohmann, Sandhya Mahadevan, William McEntee, Troy Mitchell, Loreanne Oh, Nina Pande, Jacob Reed, Casey Smith, Tyler Tran, Joyce Wang, Alexandra Willcox, Lena Wilson, Maggie Xing, Alice Yu, Cissy Yu, Allen Zhou and Zhongshan Zhu.

Approximately 16,000 students from across the nation were named semifinalists in the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Program and will compete for 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $34 million.

Comments are closed.