|For rec.gardeners: |Newsgroups: rec.gardens |Subject: How to get to gardening FAQs, archives - UPDATE Accessing Resources At sunSITE.unc.edu -------------------------------------- WAIS (also available via telnet) World Wide Web (also available via telnet, lynx available for vt100 users) URL: http://sunsite.unc.edu anonymous ftp ftpmail (Send e-mail to ftpmail@sunsite.unc.edu for helpfile on ftpmail usage) Gopher (also available via telnet) Type=1+ Name=Sustainable Agriculture Information Path=1/sunsite.d/sus-ag.d Host=president.oit.unc.edu Port=70 Admin=Jonathan Magid and Chris Colomb, 919-962-6501 ModDate=Mon Oct 17 20:27:16 1994 <19941017202716> URL: gopher://president.oit.unc.edu:70/11/sunsite.d/sus-ag.d telnet Login: (follow login instructions for access to WAIS, gopher, ftp, lynx) (vt100 works fine) Navigating FTP Directories and Gopher Menus: -------------------------------------------- Anonymous ftp: ftp sunSITE.unc.edu Login: anonymous Password: (enter your Internet E-Mail ID) cd pub/academic cd agriculture/sustainable_agriculture cd sunSITE-Sustainable-Agriculture cd gardening/gardening-faqs cd pub/academic/agriculture/rural-skills cd pub/academic/medicine/alternative-healthcare cd pub/academic/environment/alternative-energy/energy-resources cd pub/academic/environment/pesticide-education Gopher: The Worlds of sunSITE Sustainable Agriculture Information SunSITE Sustainable Agriculture Information sunSITE-Sustainable-Agriculture gardening gardening-faqs links to: Rural Skills: etc. Alternative Energy Alternative Healthcare Pesticide Education - other Gopher sites with ag/gardening information The Worlds of SunSITE browse sunSITE archives academic agriculture sustainable_agriculture sunSITE-Sustainable-Agriculture gardening gardening-faqs rural-skills The Worlds of sunSITE browse sunSITE archives academic environment alternative energy energy-resources The Worlds of sunSITE browse sunSITE archives academic medicine alternative healthcare The Worlds of sunSITE browse sunSITE archives academic environment pesticide education About the Archives: ------------------- Newsgroup, mailing-list, newsletter archives/documents/FAQs on sustainable agriculture, permaculture, IPM, landscaping, gardening, farming, rural skills, horticulture, metalworking, woodworking, weather, housebuilding, food, cooking, nutrition, ecology, environment, pesticide education, health and safety, survivalism, beekeeping, food preservation, alternative: healthcare, energy, architecture, housing, communities and many other related topics. FAQs for these newsgroups (partial list): ----------------------------------------- rec.gardens (/agriculture/sustainable_agriculture/gardening/gardening-FAQs) misc.rural (/agriculture/rural-skills/faqs) rec.food.sourdough (/agriculture/rural-skills/food/sourdough/faqs) rec.food.veg (/medicine/alternative-healthcare/faqs) rec.crafts.metalworking (/agriculture/rural-skills/metalworking/faqs) rec.woodworking (/agriculture/rural-skills/woodworking/faqs) alternative energy (/environment/alternative-energy/miscellaneous) sci.energy.hydrogen (/environment/alternative-energy/miscellaneous) alt.meditation (/medicine/alternative-healthcare/faqs) alt.co-ops (/environment/energy-resources/faqs alt.housing.nontrad (/environment/energy-resources/faqs alt.folklore.herbs (/medicine/alternative-healthcare/faqs) sci.life-extension (/medicine/alternative-healthcare/faqs) vegetarian (/medicine/alternative-healthcare/faqs) sci.agriculture.beekeeping (/agriculture/sustainable_agriculture/beekeeping/faqs misc.survivalism (/agriculture/rural-skills/survivalism/faqs) alt.backrubs (/medicine/alternative-healthcare/faqs) alt.med.allergy (/medicine/alternative-healthcare/faqs) alt.support.asthma (medicine/alternative-healthcare/faqs) Documents (partial list): ------------------------- historic food sourdough bread-yoghurt-kraut-fermented foods vegetarian cooking alternative architecture alternative/co-housing, sustainable/intentional communities - co-operatives alternative healthcare health and safety faqs sustainable agriculture gardening-farming-rural life gardening faqs permaculture integrated pest management hydrology meteorology beekeeping hydroponics biological pest control bioremediation aquaculture guides to Internet agriculture/healthcare/environment/biology resources homeopathy ayurveda nutrition meditation survivalism food preservation Mailing Lists of Interest: -------------------------- List name: sustag-public (sustainable agriculture) Server: almanac@twosocks.ces.ncsu.edu Post articles to: sustag-public@twosocks.ces.ncsu.edu Gated read/write to the alt.sustainable.agriculture Usenet newsgroup List name: sanet-mg (Sustainable Agriculture Network mail group) Server: almanac@twosocks.ces.ncsu.edu Post articles to: sanet-mg@twosocks.ces.ncsu.edu List name: forage-mg (forage crops) Server: almanac@oes.orst.edu Post articles to: forage-mg@oes.orst.edu List name: forage-quality-mg (forage crop quality) Server: almanac@oes.orst.edu Post articles to: forage-quality-mg@oes.orst.edu List name: ipm-mg (integrated pest management) Server: almanac@twosocks.ces.ncsu.edu Post articles to: ipm-mg@twosocks.ces.ncsu.edu Gated read-only to the alt.sustainable.agriculture Usenet newsgroup List name: permaculture-mg (permaculture) Server: almanac@twosocks.ces.ncsu.edu Post articles to: permaculture-mg@twosocks.ces.ncsu.edu Gated read-only to the alt.sustainable.agriculture Usenet newsgroup List name: agmetnet (meteorology) Server: almanac@awis.auburn.edu Post articles to: agmetnet@awis.auburn.edu Available From Almanac Server: almanac@twosocks.ces.ncsu.edu: ------------------------------------------------------------- renew-energy (Renewable Energy), renew-energy@twosocks.ces.ncsu.edu gated to alt.energy.renewable and FidoNet's HOMEPOWR echo nc-solar (North Carolina Solar Energy Resources), nc-solar@twosocks.ces.ncsu.edu env_res (Environmental Resources), env-res@twosocks.ces.ncsu.edu Additional Mailing Lists of Interest: ------------------------------------- [/net-resources will contain more information on many of these lists] wetnet soils-l agmodels-l agric-l envst-l grasses bee-l dairy-l hydro-l devel-l indknow-l aqua-l maxlife marine-l gardens-l cohousing-l pot-mod-l trickle-l mgarden-l Newsletters: ------------ American Garden Newsletter ipmnet-news aanews aosa.news ben panups safefood-news susag-news vita-news altag-news apis attranews-digest cgiar-news csas-news food-safety-week handsnet-news leopold-center-news wsaa-news Archives of Articles in These Usenet Newsgroups: ------------------------------------------------ sci.agriculture sci.agriculture.beekeeping alt.sustainable.agriculture alt.agriculture.misc alt.agriculture.fruit rec.gardens misc.rural rec.food.preservation misc.survivalism sci.bio sci.bio.ecology sci.geo.geology sci.geo.meteorology sci.geo.hydrology sci.aquaria rec.aquaria bionet plants bionet mycology bionet.biology.grasses bionet photosynthesis bionet cellbiology bionet general bionet.agroforestry bionet.n2-fixation bionet.biology.tropical alt.architecture.alternative alt.housing.nontrad sci.energy sci.energy.hydrogen alt.energy.renewable misc.health.alternative alt.aromatherapy sci.life-extension alt.health.ayurveda alt.folklore.gemstones alt.folklore.herbs alt.co-evolution alt.meditation alt.consciousness.mysticism rec.food.veg rec.food.veg.cooking sci.med.nutrition alt.food.fat-free alt.support.asthma alt.med.allergy For more information contact: ----------------------------- Lawrence London Paul Jones london@sunSITE.unc.edu Paul_Jones@unc.edu Venaura Farm Office for Information Technology Chapel Hill, N.C., U.S.A. University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, N.C., U.S.A.