The State of N.C. has recognized six tribes: Coharie, Eastern Band of the Cherokee, Haliwa-Saponi, Lumbee, Meherrin, and Waccamaw-Siouan. The federal government has recognized only the Eastern Band of the Cherokee. The responsibilities of the N.C. Commission of Indian Affairs (see entry below) cover the six State-recognized tribes. The Eastern Band of the Cherokee is the only tribe with a federal Environmental Health Program and Tribal Environmental Office (see entries below).

Individual tribal and organizational offices can be contacted for information on environmental quality and other subjects mentioned throughout this guide, related programs and organizations, and contacts for further information.


Coharie Intra-Tribal Council (Rt. 3, Box 340-E, Clinton, NC 28328; 919/564-6909)

Cumberland County Association for Indian People (102 Indian Dr., Fayetteville, NC 28301; 919/483-8442)

Eastern Band of the Cherokee (P.O. Box 455, Cherokee, NC 28719; 704/497-2771)

Guilford Native American Association (P.O. Box 5623, Greensboro, NC 27403; 919/273-8686)

Haliwa-Saponi Tribe (P.O. Box 99, Hollister, NC 27844; 919/586-4017)

Lumbee Regional Development Association (P.O. Box 68, Pembroke, NC 28372; 919/521-8602)

Meherrin Indian Tribe (P.O. Box 508, Winton, NC 27986; 919/358-4375)

Metrolina Native American Association (2601-A East 7th St., Charlotte, NC 28204; 704/331-4818)

Waccamaw Siouan Development Association (P.O. Box 221, Bolton, NC 28423; 919/655-8778)


N.C. Department of Administration - N.C. Commission of Indian Affairs (325 N. Salisbury St., Raleigh 27603-5940; 919/733-5998): The commission was created in 1971 to implement economic and human development programs; to provide aid and protection for Indians; and to promote recognition of and the right of Indians to pursue their cultural and religious traditions. Compiles, studies, and disseminates a broad array of information on Indian affairs; reviews legislation; conducts public hearings; establishes procedures for legal recognition of Indian groups, tribes, and communities by the state and provides for official recognition; and initiates procedures for federal legal recognition. The commission is comprised of 18 members. Staff is located at the central Raleigh office and five field offices. Publishes an annual report and other materials.

Tribal Environmental Office (P.O. Box 455, Cherokee 28719; 704/497-2771): Serves the Eastern Band of the Cherokee. Works parallel with the Tribal Planning Office. Responsible for developing an Overall Tribal Environmental Plan consistent with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Indian Policy. Coordinates with other Tribal programs in promoting cost-effective and environmentally sound economic, community, and social development. Also coordinates with federal agencies and departments relative to development projects on Reservation lands. Conducts environmental assessments. Established in October 1992.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services - Indian Health Service - Environmental Health Program (Cherokee Hospital, Cherokee 28719; 704/497-9163): Serves the Eastern Band of the Cherokee. Inspects water and sewer systems and sanitation of residences, restaurants, and other buildings and facilities. Conducts environmental assessments of homes which can include testing for lead hazards and water contamination. Works on issues of occupational hazards. Operates in conjunction with adjoining counties.

Back to the table of contents...