Meadville Space Center
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 24, 2020, 10:13:13 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Project Apollo - NASSP 6.4.3 released!
http://nassp.sf.net
25068 Posts in 2094 Topics by 2266 Members
Latest Member: twa517
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Meadville Space Center
|-+  Project Apollo - NASSP
| |-+  Project Apollo - NASSP Development
| | |-+  Programming (Moderators: movieman, dseagrav, Swatch, lassombra)
| | | |-+  MultiThread Virtual AGC testing
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] Print
Author Topic: MultiThread Virtual AGC testing  (Read 17431 times)
vrouleau
Project Team Member
Full Member
****
Posts: 153


View Profile Email
« Reply #30 on: September 04, 2009, 08:53:33 AM »

Of course. I see now. No I'll do it, at work we say "Fix your own shit"...
Logged
Tschachim
Project Apollo - NASSP
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 3700


nassp.sf.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #31 on: September 04, 2009, 08:55:42 AM »

...at work we say "Fix your own shit"...

 Very Happy Well, I didn't want to be that direct...  Wink
Logged

dseagrav
Moderator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 1118


View Profile
« Reply #32 on: September 04, 2009, 11:42:17 AM »

at work we say "Fix your own shit"
All I get here (Edit: meaning "at work") is "For the love of God, please don't crap up my project!"
And they act like you're asking for a miracle.

Edit: Please let me know when you have this fixed so I know when it's safe to update.

I tested against Orbiter and it doesn't screw up the rudder axis, only our stuff does. So when this is fixed, I'll look at the auto thingy and see why it's doing what it does and fix it.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2009, 01:30:06 PM by dseagrav » Logged
jarmonik
Full Member
***
Posts: 159


View Profile Email
« Reply #33 on: September 08, 2009, 09:42:28 AM »

Good to know it's working, but I don't experience this problem in debug build either, so I'd suspect an environment problem. What OS/Compiler do you use? Orbiter beta or 2006P1?

Cheers
Tschachim

So far, I haven't been able to trace the source of the problem. I have Windows XP SP3 and MS Visual C++ 2005 Express. The problem will manifest it self in same way in Orbiter Beta and 2006P1. This will happen with 1x time acceleration (no acceleration). Debug mode can be used with 20x acceleration. Time acceleration seems to have no effect into the problem, meaning that it won't get any worse when acceleration is increased to 10x

I would presume that this is somehow related in hard drive activity and write caches but if no one else can reproduce the problem I suppose we can close the case for now.
Logged
dseagrav
Moderator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 1118


View Profile
« Reply #34 on: September 08, 2009, 11:26:47 AM »

So if I understand this right, if I update right now, the AGC will lock up Orbiter?
Logged
Tschachim
Project Apollo - NASSP
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 3700


nassp.sf.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #35 on: September 08, 2009, 11:35:41 AM »

No, but I found a small bug, lines like this in the saturn and the lm:

Code:
else if (!strnicmp (line, "TZX", 3)==0) {

need to read

Code:
else if (!strnicmp (line, "TZX", 3)) {

otherwise the expression is true if the line is NOT TZX (or whatever).

I already changed that in my local copy and it seems to work without bugs, but on my computer the 2nd core is NOT used, i.e. CPU = 50% for whatever reasons...
Logged

dseagrav
Moderator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 1118


View Profile
« Reply #36 on: September 08, 2009, 11:50:36 AM »

So it's safe for me to update (and after that commit) without blowing up anything?
Logged
Tschachim
Project Apollo - NASSP
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 3700


nassp.sf.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #37 on: September 08, 2009, 11:55:04 AM »

Well, you need to fix the forementioned bugs yourself or wait for vrouleau's or my (will take until next week) fix or the Saturns and the LM doesn't read their scenarios anymore...
Logged

vrouleau
Project Team Member
Full Member
****
Posts: 153


View Profile Email
« Reply #38 on: September 08, 2009, 12:48:07 PM »

I've fix those "(!strnicmp (line, "...", 3))", so every thing should be fine. Please advise otherwise. Also fixed the reading of "IsMultiThread" boolean value. Tschachim, your CPU should go above %50 now. Mind you, you need to find the proper value for "MaxAccelerationTime" for your system. If you set it to high ( x100), The AGC will still be overloaded and the main thread will always be blocked waiting for the AGC to finish its cycle. On my laptop ( Core 2 Duo T7600 2.33 Gmhz), the max time acceleration is x15. On my Quad Core Q6700 at 3.6 Ghz, its around x60.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2009, 03:11:59 PM by vrouleau » Logged
Tschachim
Project Apollo - NASSP
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 3700


nassp.sf.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #39 on: September 08, 2009, 04:27:20 PM »

Yes, looks fine!  Thumbs Up
Logged

dseagrav
Moderator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 1118


View Profile
« Reply #40 on: September 13, 2009, 03:38:01 PM »

I fixed the rudder axis thing. Since my joystick reported affirmatively for having both slider and Z axis controls, the wrong one took precedence.
I fixed it and it seems to work; Let me know if anything is broken
Logged
Tschachim
Project Apollo - NASSP
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 3700


nassp.sf.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #41 on: September 14, 2009, 03:56:57 PM »

It works fine with my ancient Sidewinder Precision 2 (only 1 rotator), we'll if it's fine for all I suppose... Happy
Logged

Pages: 1 2 [3] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.10 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!