Meadville Space Center
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 08, 2020, 04:58:22 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Gemini 060615 released!
25068 Posts in 2094 Topics by 2266 Members
Latest Member: twa517
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Meadville Space Center
|-+  Project Apollo - NASSP
| |-+  Project Apollo - NASSP Development
| | |-+  Programming (Moderators: movieman, dseagrav, Swatch, lassombra)
| | | |-+  Random failures
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Random failures  (Read 1172 times)
movieman
Moderator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 1710



View Profile
« on: August 19, 2005, 04:35:31 PM »

I've just added the beginnings of some random failure code. This causes a few failures like early engine shutdown, failure to seperate from the SII stage, parachute failure and switch failure.

None of these failures will occur on historical missions, but you can hardwire them into fictional missions or have Orbiter pick a random combination of failures itself. The idea is that once we've got all these switches wired up, it will give people something to do with them Happy.

There's also now a 'Fictional Missions' scenario folder, with one mission that will give you random failures. Most failures are rare, so you'll get one maybe one time in ten when running that mission.

BTW, all failures are survivable, at least if you hit the right switches at the right time Happy. I don't think there's any point in putting in unsurvivable failures Happy.
Logged
NoName
Project Team Member
Hero Member
****
Posts: 795


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2005, 06:04:43 AM »

Phantastic idea movieman Very Happy So we are able to do some failure training before flying a real mission Cool. For Apollo 13, we could simulate the explosion of the corresponding O2 Tank and simulate the cabins CO2 increasing in the LEM. That will be phantastic since Tschachim is going to finish the ECS stuff Very Happy
Logged
movieman
Moderator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 1710



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2005, 06:22:45 AM »

That's a good point, actually: you could set up some 'that'll never happen in real life' training missions for people to fly as practice. But they'll be far harder than the real historical missions Happy.

Yeah, we've talked about the Apollo 13 simulation: with the tanks simulated we should be able to add a vent from the O2 tank that blew up to let the oxygen vent out into space, and have the rest of the simulation just work.

At the moment there are about ten possible failures, but a lot more can be added. For example, any switch can now be forced to fail by calling SetFailed(true): then it will always stay in the '0' state.

Actually, I should extend that so you can set the failed state as well as the failure itself (i.e. switches failing on as well as off).
Logged
movieman
Moderator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 1710



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2005, 07:25:22 AM »

Ok, you can now specify which state the switch failed in. Note that this means you should always call the 'GetState()' or 'IsUp()', 'IsDown()', etc functions to get the functional state of the switch: the 'state' variable now only tells you about the visual state, not the function.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.10 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!