Meadville Space Center
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 14, 2020, 05:52:41 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Gemini 060615 released!
25068 Posts in 2094 Topics by 2266 Members
Latest Member: twa517
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Meadville Space Center
|-+  Project Apollo - NASSP
| |-+  Project Apollo - NASSP Development
| | |-+  Programming (Moderators: movieman, dseagrav, Swatch, lassombra)
| | | |-+  SIVB Seperation Texture Weirdness
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: SIVB Seperation Texture Weirdness  (Read 3069 times)
F16PilotJumper
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 8


View Profile
« on: February 22, 2005, 11:02:55 PM »

I was testing out the unified 6.3 release today - seems nice so far.

However, seperating the CSM/LM from the SIVB causes a weird texture error which wraps a US flag around the SIVB:



I used a fresh-from-the-zip Orbiter '05 install for my testing.  Apollo 8 and Apollo 9 scenarios exibited the same behavior upon seperation.
Logged
Tschachim
Project Apollo - NASSP
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 3700


nassp.sf.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2005, 06:43:15 AM »

Thanks for pointing that out!
Please report bugs with the SourceForge bug tracker:

http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?group_id=129726&atid=716072

You can add the screenshot there, too (Thanks for making one!).
If you have a quicksave for reproducing this bug, please also attach it, it's much easier to fix the bug then.

Greetings
Tschachim
Logged

Anonymous
Guest
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2005, 10:24:01 AM »

Just a quick note to say that I have also encountered this bug quite alot. It is not 6.3 releated though as I've seen it with older versions too.

I think it may be related to NEP and the overwriting of textures by the batch files.
Logged
movieman
Moderator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 1710



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2005, 01:18:27 PM »

Yeah, that used to happen in 5.x. I don't think it's anything we're doing, as the texture is specified in the mesh file.
Logged
F16PilotJumper
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2005, 12:13:39 PM »

If I view sat5stg3.msh in glMesh, it looks perfectly fine - no flag.

It's also fine before seperation - what mesh is being loaded after seperation?
Logged
movieman
Moderator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 1710



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2005, 12:26:58 PM »

Unless I'm horribly mistaken, it's exactly the same mesh. I'm pretty sure that either this is a duff pointer causing us to trash data in Orbiter, or it's an Orbiter bug.
Logged
Tschachim
Project Apollo - NASSP
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 3700


nassp.sf.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2005, 09:55:59 AM »

VERY interesting bug! I figured out the following:

First I was not able to load the scenario of the bug, I found out that there is a "sat5stg3lem" vessel docked with the CSM. But the docking port of sat5stg3lem is added after the second timestep, so I introduced a "sat5stg3lem.cfg":

Code:

ClassName = sat5stg3
MeshName = sat5stg3
Size = 15.5
Mass = 65600
COG_OverGround = 2.0
CW = 0.5 1.1 2 2.4
CrossSections = 167 167 67
RotResistance = 2.0 2.0 2.0
Inertia = 53.5 53.5 15
EnableFocus = FALSE

BEGIN_DOCKLIST
0.0 0.0 -2.2 0 0 1 -0.705 -0.705 0
END_DOCKLIST


and loading works fine. But after seperation no "flag-bug"  Confused

I tried to quicksafe -> CTD. I did some debugging and found out it was the not initialized ApolloGuidance.BurnEndTime double during saving with oapiWriteScenario_float. After changing the constructor
Code:
BurnEndTime = 0;
I can save, load and undock as I like, but still no "flag-bug"  Confused

So I have 3 questions:
When you get the bug, did you save/load the scenario at some time?
Should I commit my changes or are they bullshit ?
Could the bug caused by the points I figured out ?

Thanks and Greetings
Tschachim
Logged

Anonymous
Guest
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2005, 04:26:27 PM »

Adding the .cfg file fixed the can't-load-scenario, and the flag did not appear after loading the scenario and sepearting from the SIVB.

However, when starting from launch and flying all the way to seperation without saving/loading, the flag still appears.

Should that mass be 17000kg like in stg3astp, stg3lm1, etc?
Logged
Tschachim
Project Apollo - NASSP
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 3700


nassp.sf.net


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2005, 06:15:50 PM »

Quote from: Anonymous
However, when starting from launch and flying all the way to seperation without saving/loading, the flag still appears.

I did a complete mission meanwhile, I only used pause and time acceleration. It was Apollo 9 and still no "flag-bug". Confused  
Does that bug occur everytime or only sometimes?

Quote
Should that mass be 17000kg like in stg3astp, stg3lm1, etc.?

It is set to that value in SaturnV::setupS4B, but you are right, perhaps I miss something, I'll change it to 17000.

Thanks and Greetings
Tschachim
Logged

movieman
Moderator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 1710



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2005, 06:22:45 PM »

Damn, I wonder if I never released that config file? My local copy does have docking ports in it, but the file doesn't seem to exist in CVS.
Logged
bob7
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2005, 08:06:55 PM »

Its not a bug, Its a feature! (or an easter egg). In older versions (I'm not shure about 6.3) the SVIB texture would change to a differant picture after LM sep. In one mission its a flag, in another it would be an astronaut on the moon, and other things too. I say we leave it. Its one of those things that makes NASSP NASSP.
Logged

Umm... the warp engines, phasers, and transporters don't arrive until next Tuesday!
Scotty?
I'll need a roll of duck tape, 20 meters of binder twine & a donut.
http://www.geocities.com/tylertacky
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.10 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!