Narinjara News

The SPDC sidelined Arakanese Political Parties from National Convention

Akyab, April 13:  The SPDC has not invited Arakanese Political parties to attend the National Convention to be held on the 17th of May 2004.

The SPDC has invited the National League For Democracy and some other ethnic nationality parties, but none of the Arakanese Political Parties were invited.

“The SPDC junta didn’t invite any of the registered parties or even the parties that won seats in 1990 election,” According to a member of the Arakan League for Democracy (ALD) from Akyab.

The SPDC didn’t invite the political organizations, which have a mandate to represent them. Instead the SPDC hand picks some Arakanese and brand them as the representatives of the Arakanese people. One of these handpicked people was the former Communist leader U Saw Htun who surrendered to the junta in 1996.

“They should invite ALD which represent the Arakanese people, since they won the 1990 election in Arakan. The ALD can work for the interest of the people. It is the most popular party. It is the best representative of the people. If they really want peace for the whole country, they should get the people representative political parties in the discussion,” said an Arakanese activist in

Since the SPDC is not inviting Arakanese Political Parties, including the ALD, most Arakanese people do not believe in the SPDC National Convention.

There are 10 Arakanese political parties contested in the 1990 General Election including The Arakan League for Democracy (ALD), The Arakan Nationalities Parties, the Arakan People’s Democratic Alliance, the Arakan National United Party (RaTaNga), the Kaman League for Democracy and the Mro(a) Khame National United.

The Arakan League for Democracy won 11 seats in Arakan state while Daw Aung San Suu Kyi’s National League for Democracy won 9 seats in the state.#

For further information, please contact Narinjara:
Phone: 880 18 255 018 (Mobile)