Narinjara News

Dhaka, February 10



India names pipeline meeting representatives



India has nominated four officials to represent the country in the upcoming 'Technical Committee' meeting of the proposed tri-nation gas pipeline project, to be held in Burma's capital city of Rangoon.


The meeting is to be attended by representatives of India, Bangladesh and Burma.


A press release issued by the Indian High Commission in Dhaka, on 7 February, named the Indian representatives for the meeting that is scheduled to be held in the second week of February, in Yangon.


Those named are Ak Srivastava, Joint Secretary of the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, Swami Singh, Director of the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, Rajeev Khanna, Executive Director of Business Development for the Gas Authority of India Ltd., and a senior representative of ONGC Videsh Ltd. (Oil and Natural Gas Corporation).


The names of those appointed were given to the Government of Burma by the Indian government on January 24 and India also proposed February 17-18 as dates for the meeting.


The Burmese authority proposed on earlier date of February 14.


The Indian press release also expressed the hope that the Technical Committee deliberations in Rangoon will be successful, thereby paving the way for the early signing of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for the gas pipeline.


The committee is to hold discussions in all the three countries in order to determine the pipeline's route and work out ownership and other technical issues.


The committee plans to prepare and submit a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to facilitate the signing of the tri-partisan agreement, by April. #



For further information, please contact Narinjara:

Phone: 880 189 42 55 36 (Mobile)



Full Narinjara archive in the Online Burma/Myanmar Library at