News Library News Online
Vol. 22, No. 4/Summer 2000

Table of Contents
Regular Features

New This Month

News Library News
SLA News Division Home


News Division Awards
By Ginny Everett


Congratulations to the 2000 News Division award winners! The following awards were presented at the annual awards banquet on June 12:


Ellie Briscoe and Sandy Hall

The Joseph F. Kwapil Memorial Award to Sandra Kimberley Hall, of Honolulu, Hawaii, former library director, Arizona Daily Star, acting division chair, 1978-79, and chair, 1979-80. The Kwapil award is the highest recognition of the News Division, given for major achievement in the field of news librarianship and for outstanding service to the division.



Ellie Briscoe and Sandy Hall pose with Sandy's Joseph F. Kwapil Memorial Award.


Bob JansenThe Agnes Henebry Roll of Honor Award to Robert H. Jansen, Library Director, Minneapolis Star Tribune, and Linda Henderson, Library Director, Providence Journal. This award is given for service to the News Division and for outstanding participation in Division programs and projects.



Bob Jansen gives his acceptance speech for the Agnes Henebry Roll of Honor Award.


Linda Henderson and Charlie Campo admire a spoof newspaper made for Linda's Henebry Award


Linda Henderson and Charlie Campo admire a spoof newspaper page designed for Linda's Agnes Henebry Roll of Honor Award.



The Ralph J. Shoemaker Award of Merit to Virginia Everett, Director, Information Services, Atlanta Journal-Constitution. This award is given to the division chair upon completion of the term of office as division chair and as program chair for the previous year.


John Jansson presents Carol Ann Martin with an award.

Other awards presented included special recognition awards to Justin Scroggs, Time. Inc. Research Center, for outstanding editorship of the 75th Anniversary program; NewsBank for publication of the 75th anniversary program; Carol Ann Martin, formerly of Bell & Howell, for distinguished service to news libraries; and Gary Price, George Washington University, for his List of Lists.

John Jansson presents Carol Ann Martin, formerly of Bell & Howell, with a special recognition award for distinguished service to news libraries.


John Jansson and Gary Price


John Jansson presents a special recognition award to Gary Price for his List of Lists.



Past News Division chair Carol Campbell of the Daily Oklahoman organized the awards banquet at Philadelphia's Downtown Club, located in the former Public Ledger Building where Joseph Kwapil himself once worked. Carol also chaired the 2000 Award Committee that included Sharon Clairemont, Orange County Register; Margaret Neu, Corpus Christi Caller Times; Linda Paschal, NewsBank; and Donna Scheeder, Library of Congress.

2001 Awards

Now it's time to start thinking about nominations for our 2001 awards. As past News Division Chair, I will be heading this year's awards committee. Other committee members include Bob Jansen, Minneapolis Star Tribune; Barbara Semonche, University of North Carolina; Richard Geiger, San Francisco Chronicle; and Julie Kirsh, Toronto Sun.

We encourage you to submit nominations for both the Kwapil and Henebry Awards. A nomination form and deadline information will be posted on the News Division web site. Each nomination must include a paragraph supporting your nominee. The supporting paragraph should contain biographical information, past News Division service, achievements in the field and why you are nominating this person for the award.

You can submit your nominations by mail, e-mail or fax to:

Ginny Everett, Director
Information Services
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
72 Marietta St. NW
Atlanta, GA 30303
Telephone: 404-526-5213
Fax: 404-526-5715

Ginny Everett is the head of the library at the Atlanta-Journal Constitution. You can contact her at

News Library News
SLA News Division Home

The page was reformatted on 4/8/03. The content, including URLs and contact information, on this page has not been updated to preserve the historical record.

Comments about News Library News should go to the editor.
Comments about the Web site should go to the Webmaster: