view topic in forum
Treaty of Rome 50th Anniversary
50th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Rome.
The centre of the coin shows the Treaty signed by the six founding Member States on a background evoking the paving, designed by Michelangelo, of the Piazza del Campidoglio in Rome where the Treaty was signed on 25 March 1957.

The translation of the word ‘Europe’ appears above the book.

The translation of the words ‘Treaty of Rome 50 years’ is inscribed above the design.

The year 2007 and the national name of the issuing country are inscribed under the design.

The twelve stars of the European flag are depicted on the outer ring.
Production: Date of Issue:
87,500,000 25 March 2007
Click on each coin for a detail page and larger image:
tor.01.austria.jpg (60902 bytes)
tor.02.belgium.jpg (73782 bytes)
tor.03.finland.jpg (54472 bytes)
tor.04.france.jpg (65928 bytes)
tor.05.germany.jpg (66558 bytes)
tor.06.greece.jpg (60556 bytes)
tor.07.ireland.jpg (68148 bytes)
tor.08.italy.jpg (64937 bytes)
tor.09.luxembourg.jpg (64510 bytes)
tor.10.netherlands.jpg (68275 bytes)
tor.11.portugal.jpg (62912 bytes)
tor.12.slovenia.jpg (61966 bytes)
tor.13.spain.jpg (52453 bytes)
Related Information
  • The final design for this issue was selected from among 13 designs submitted from the NCBs of the EMU. See here for more details.
  • These 2 Euro coins will replace the regular circulation 2 Euro coins in most countries.
    • Slovenia, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands will issue a standard 2 euro coin into circulation along with this commemorative.
  • 2007 will be the first year in which more than one country will participate in the same 2 Euro commemorative coin design.
  • 13 of the 16 Eurozone members will issue a 2 Euro commemorative in honor of the 50th anniversary of the Treaty of Rome, which laid the foundation of the European Union. The three micro- states, San Marino, Vatican City and Monaco, will not issue these commemoratives because they are not members of the EU.
  • An exception to the rule which allows for only one 2 Euro commemorative coin per year has been made only for the issuance of this commemorative.
  • Mint Master Marks of any country which uses them will be present on these coins.
  • The language varies from country to country on each corresponding coin.
  • Previous regulations governing issuance of coinage in The Netherlands had to be changed in order to participate in this program. The law stated that the head of state must be represented on all coinage, along with the words "[Beatrix] [Koningin, Koning] Der Nederlanden" ([Beatrix] [Queen, King] of The Netherlands).
    • "...the law was modified because of this issue, but now has a wider scope: Art. 3 Sec. 3 of the Dutch muntwet now says: "In het kader van een Europees herdenkingsthema kan ten aanzien van de Nederlandse euromunten van twee euro worden afgeweken van het tweede lid." So coins with European commemorative themes do not have to have the royal portrait."
  • A similar law is in place for Luxembourg, but instead of suspending it, the Luxembourg design features a latent image of H.S.H. Grand Duke Henri.
  • This is the first non-standard 2 Euro issue for the following countries:
    • France
    • Ireland
    • Netherlands
    • Portugal