Evangelist and Bible translator

Please introduce yourself here, if you haven't already.
jjThomas

Evangelist and Bible translator

Post by jjThomas »

I work as an evangelist and Bible translator. Welcome to consider The Christ Family Bible and A Guide to Misleading Bible Quotes, the two main publications I publish. (Both are available online for free.)
I trained in Language Sciences for about 6 years (2011-2016), including the ancient languages of the Bible, alongside semantics, pragmatics, syntax, translation theory etc.
I have trained for ministry formally since 2009, in the Protestant, university-based tradition, although I believe that all three main ecclesial groups (Orthodox, Catholic, Protestant) need to learn from each other in humble counsel like the model of Acts 15.
Barry Hofstetter

Re: Evangelist and Bible translator

Post by Barry Hofstetter »

Welcome to B-Greek!
N.E. Barry Hofstetter, M.A., Th.M.
Ph.D. Student U of FL
Instructor of Latin
Jack M. Barrack Hebrew Academy
καὶ σὺ τὸ σὸν ποιήσεις κἀγὼ τὸ ἐμόν. ἆρον τὸ σὸν καὶ ὕπαγε.
Jonathan Robie

Post by Jonathan Robie »

Yes, welcome!

FWIW, I work for SIL International, doing software for Bible translation. So I work with a lot of Bible translators.
ἐξίσταντο δὲ πάντες καὶ διηποροῦντο, ἄλλος πρὸς ἄλλον λέγοντες, τί θέλει τοῦτο εἶναι;
http://jonathanrobie.biblicalhumanities.org/
jjThomas

Post by jjThomas »

Jonathan Robie wrote: July 21st, 2020, 11:25 am Yes, welcome!

FWIW, I work for SIL International, doing software for Bible translation. So I work with a lot of Bible translators.
Thank you for the welcome! I must note out of Christian duty (Jude 3-4) that I am very concerned about SIL, especially its relationship to the NIV and Biblica, because of their rather apparent practice of removing words and adding words to Holy Scripture, a practice that leads to spiritual and earthly disasters (Revelation 22:18-19).
Jonathan Robie

Post by Jonathan Robie »

jjThomas wrote: July 23rd, 2020, 10:36 am