Lighthouses of Morocco: Western Sahara

Western Sahara is the former Spanish Sahara, a large, lightly populated desert country in the south of Morocco and northwest of Mauritania. When Spain pulled out of its colony in 1976, the territory was occupied by troops from Morocco and Mauretania. The Mauritanians withdrew in 1979, and Morocco has occupied most of Western Sahara (including nearly all of the coast) since that time.

Lighthouses of the former Western Sahara are now described on the Morocco: Atlantic Coast page.


El Cabiño Light, February 2002
Creative Commons photo by Rui Ornelas

Adjoining pages: North: Morocco's Atlantic Coast | South: Mauretania

Return to the Lighthouse Directory index | Ratings key

Posted August 23, 2005. Checked and revised June 3, 2010. Lighthouses: 11. Site copyright 2010 Russ Rowlett and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.