Campus Web policies are official (fwd)

   re our discussion today	---bert 

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Tue, 14 Jan 1997 11:18:13 -0500
From: Judy Hallman <hallman@gibbs.oit.unc.edu>
To: Web-Walkers <web-walkers@UNC.EDU>, Support <support@UNC.EDU>,
Cc: Anne Parker <anne_parker@UNC.EDU>,
    Linwood Futrelle <linwood_futrelle@UNC.EDU>,
    Margaret Balcom <mpbalcom@email.unc.edu>
Subject: Campus Web policies are official

To Web-Walkers and Support lists:

The Campus Web policies at http://www.unc.edu/campus/aboutweb/howto/ have 
been approved by University Counsel Susan Ehringhaus and are now official.
Susan requested a few changes. These have been made and the line: 
  Approved by UNC-CH University Counsel: October 1996

has been added to the bottom of the following files:

  Copyright (http://www.unc.edu/campus/aboutweb/howto/copyr.html)
  Disclaimer (http://www.unc.edu/campus/aboutweb/howto/disclaimer.html)
  Links to the UNC-CH Home Page 
  Photographs and Audio and Video Clips 
  Requirements for Web Pages Linked from the UNC-CH Home Page 
  Rights and Responsibilities 
  Data Storage and Deletion Policy 
  Guidelines for Group Web Pages 
  Guidelines for Personal Home Pages 

Also, the "Personal Use Policy" in now online and is linked to from 
the "Howto" page.

There were a couple of changes in the Disclaimer. In all files 
that talk about deletion, the third reason for deletion was changed to: 

  The file is in violation of the law or University policy. 

In guidelines for personal pages, the "no commercial use" part was 
changed to the following:

 Because the University is funded by public funds, we have a particular
 responsibility to avoid any question about University affiliation
 with, sponsorship of, or endorsement of non-University organizations.
 Therefore, web pages may not be constructed in such a manner as to
 establish an on-campus presence of a non-University organization. 

I also added that section to the guidelines for groups.

I've drafted an article for the University Gazette.

Many thanks to Anne Parker for working with Susan Ehringhaus on these 
policies, and to Susan and all the people and committees who helped 
develop the policies, guidelines, etc. 

Judy Hallman (judy_hallman@unc.edu, http://www.unc.edu/~hallman/)
Campus-Wide Information Systems Manager, UNC-Chapel Hill